Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
MAC OS X:ForumBoot CampApple Home

Need professional advice: I've been sitting on my Mac Pro 1,1 , now what?

COW Forums : Apple OS X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Bryan RobertsNeed professional advice: I've been sitting on my Mac Pro 1,1 , now what?
by on Jun 13, 2012 at 3:51:21 pm

Hi all,

I'm at a serious crossroads right now and can't seem to figure out the best plan of action. I'm a professional Final Cut / Avid editor working in LA and over the past few years, have only edited in FCP. I love it, it is lord but regardless of the differing opinions, for me in LA there just aren't houses switching to FCPX so it looks like it's back to the drudges of an Avid life... eventually. For the time being, I'm working on many projects and have stayed in FCP7 and work from my home bay quite often lately. I bought a 2.3 dual core G5 right when they came out and then had a director gift me his Mac Pro 1,1 3.0 ghz clovertown 3 years ago for payment on a project we were doing. My Mac Pro 1,1 has been great to me - I have 12 gigs of ram, a solid state boot drive and upgraded the video card to an ATI 3870 - I also run a 5 drive bay external enclosure for SATA drives via esata and a Sonnet Tempo card. The only thing that's been killing me is exports and renders out of my system which take way longer than they should and now I can't upgrade past Snow Leopard not to mention Avid MC6 (and FCPX) are 64 bit only which my 1,1 mac pro will not do. So this past Monday was my day, to get a fresh new redesigned Mac Pro with the latest connectivity etc. but as we all know, that didn't happen.