Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
MAYA:MAYA ForumMAYA TutorialsMAYA

General question: Maya & fatal errors

COW Forums : MAYA

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Ben van HamelenGeneral question: Maya & fatal errors
by on Dec 7, 2011 at 8:49:42 am

Hi all,

I've been working with Maya for about 1,5 years now and there's something I've noticed: the _massive_ amount of fatal errors one can get. For the silliest things. I can easily get up to 30 fatal errors A DAY. Lately they especially pop up when I use the smooth preview. The only fix is to export my model as FBX and re-import it. But pretty much anything can cause a fatal error to occur. The polygon split or insert edge loop are popular as well.

Now I'm not really looking for a solution to the smooth preview fatal error, because I can work around it. But it did make me wonder: does everyone have so many fatal errors?

It has come to a point that I find myself wondering why I'm still using this instable piece of software and why on earth large production offices use it.

Share your thoughts, I really want to know.

Cheers,

Ben van H.

http://www.fireinthesole.com/

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Steve SayerRe: General question: Maya & fatal errors
by on Dec 7, 2011 at 5:42:23 pm

What graphics card are you using? Maya is notoriously picky. It even tends to exhibit errors on 'officially qualified' cards.

The situation you're describing is one of the worst I've heard about--but it's not unheard of, if you follow me. I agree, it's pretty disappointing and frustrating. My perception is that the big studios have top-notch hardware and higher-level support from Autodesk; the rest of us are left to limp along as best we can.

-Steve

Return to posts index
Reply   Like