Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
DVD AUTHORING:Forum- TutorialsEncore DVD Forum- TutorialsDVD Workshop, UleadDVDit, SonicApple DVD Forum- Tutorials

DVD burning constantly failling.

COW Forums : DVD Authoring

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
anna conlonDVD burning constantly failling.
by on Jul 11, 2011 at 10:19:02 pm

Hi Everyone,

I'm a wedding videographer and I'm having an issue with burning my DVDs. I use final cut and DVD studio pro and have a g5 and mac book pro. I use compressor to create Dolby Digital Professional 2.0 and MPEG-2 6.2Mbps 2-pass files.

In the past I burned the DVD directly from DVD studio pro but I found that disc's would fail to burn properly and give issue of stalling and skipping. I found a method online which was meant to give more reliable results.

Basically I would use Studio pro and do an advanced burn and build and format on the desk top giving me an .img file. Then using my MAC I would use the disk utility to burn the disc. I would choose the slowest speed possible to burn the DVD as I read that this give more reliable results. This seem to work quite well for me for a while but now I'm back to the old problem of the disk failing and skipping and stalling. The DVD would always give me a burned successfully message. Even though my method hasn't change its no longer a reliable method disc are now failing again one in every two are skipping and stalling despite the burned successfully message.

I'm using Traxdata DVDs x8 as I've also been told this is one of the better quality DVDs out there. I've tried burning at x8 speed and the slowest speed x2 and both give unreliable results. I've tried on two different MACs as I was sure the burner in my old G5 must be broken but my new MAC book pro also gave unreliable results.