Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
MOTION GRAPHICS:Motion Graphics ForumMotion Graphics TutorialsAfter EffectsApple MotionBoris FXProfessionals

time stretching footage that goes in & out of focus

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Techniques

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Hillary Knoxtime stretching footage that goes in & out of focus
by on Feb 14, 2012 at 8:29:45 pm

Trying to use AE & Kronos to manufacture some slo-mo. Considering the time that I've invested in it (very little), the results so far have ranged from more-than-acceptable to pretty great...until now.

I have a clip (shot on 5d) that's an ECU of an actor's face - the focus is super shallow and the actor is rocking back & forth, face going in & out of focus.

I'm no expert slo-mo manufacturer, and I don't know if there is a trick to getting this to work better. I'm only trying to slow the footage down 50%, but I keep getting some really weird morph-y looking stuff happening in the large facial surface areas i.e. cheeks. I thought about subdividing the clip into in-focus and out-of-focus sections & slowing those sections independently, but I don't want to do any more wheel reinvention than is necessary. Is there a standard trick for dealing with this?

Thanks.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Michael SzalapskiRe: time stretching footage that goes in & out of focus
by on Feb 14, 2012 at 11:00:54 pm

Is there a reason you can't reshoot with the actor moving at the speed you want (or the camera at a higher shutter speed)?
By how much are you attempting to slow it?

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index