Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
MOTION GRAPHICS:Motion Graphics ForumMotion Graphics TutorialsAfter EffectsApple MotionBoris FXProfessionals

Advice needed on motion graphics field

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Techniques

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Mio TanakaAdvice needed on motion graphics field
by on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:45:34 am

I'm a 27-year-old temp TV CG designer working at a Japanese broadcasting company.
I'd like to get a YMS visa (=two year working visa) before I become 31 and work as a motion graphics designer in London, where I studied English for about two years, after working as one here in Japan.

So I'd like some information from people in the field as to what I need to do.
I'm proficient with Photoshop and Illustrator, semi-proficient at After Effects (about three years commercial experience at work for all) and I'm a novice at 3D tools and I've been practising Maya and Softimage by myself.

How's the general working environment in motion graphics/creative fields in the UK (pay, overtime, holiday etc is terrible in Japan)?

Do I need to be proficient at After Effects expressions? Or Is it okay if I can just copy and paste simple scripts from somewhere or use the same simple basic ones? I guess I want to know how much technical knowledge employers consider necessary.

What tools are mainly used for motion graphics in the UK? Photoshop, Illustrator, After Effects... any other must-learn tools?

What are the main 3D tools? And how proficient do you generally need to be for motion graphics? (I don't think people have to be as good as video game modelers in this field. Depends on the project, though, of course)