Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Lighting person to match animated background?

COW Forums : Lighting Design Pros

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Rick PearlLighting person to match animated background?
by on Dec 4, 2008 at 6:41:38 am

1.) How do you light a person that will eventually be placed over an animated background that will have dark and light values while the background animates slowly?

2.) How can you measure if the lighting level of the screen is about a stop lower illumination than the foreground using just a Zebra?

Thanks, I am still fairly new to all of this.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Michael PalmerRe: Lighting person to match animated background?
by on Dec 4, 2008 at 3:56:41 pm

1.) How do you light a person that will eventually be placed over an animated background that will have dark and light values while the background animates slowly?

I believe you will be shooting this person on a green screen and there is much posted here on proper techniques for this. There are no rules to where light comes from and it can even move during a shot depending of the action of the animation. If you're just shooting a head and shoulders on green screen decide on the look, as you mentioned dark so try the key light from the camera left or right side, then add enough fill from the opposite side so the person will cut out against the background.

2.) How can you measure if the lighting level of the screen is about a stop lower illumination than the foreground using just a Zebra?