Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
AVID:Avid Editing ForumAvid Editing TutorialsAvid Editing Basics ForumAvid Liquid ForumAvid Liquid TutorialsAvid VideoRAID ForumAvid

Imported .avi, waited an hour for it to convert, all i got was

COW Forums : AVID

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
David GhastImported .avi, waited an hour for it to convert, all i got was
by on Apr 12, 2012 at 4:16:33 am

Im new to avid but not to editing, ive never dealt with a editing program that forces a certain format so im not sure what to do. It took an hour to convert to mxf (using only 20% of my processor, yikes)and then told me i could not import the mxf file into a bin. I opened up the media tool and got to it to import, but then it tells me sources cant load into the monitor. I read up on mxf, its a open video format like anything else so i dont get why exactly avid is requiring a format that it wont accept.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Shane RossRe: Imported .avi, waited an hour for it to convert, all i got was
by on Apr 12, 2012 at 6:35:23 am

Can you explain exactly how you converted? Use a third party app? Or import via Avid's import interface?

[David Ghast] " ive never dealt with a editing program that forces a certain format so im not sure what to do."

You can use one that doesn't require that...like Adobe Premiere. It deals with many formats natively. I use it when I have to deal with difficult source formats, like AVI files from producers flip cameras.

Shane
Little Frog Post
Read my blog, Little Frog in High Def

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Pepijn KlijsRe: Imported .avi, waited an hour for it to convert, all i got was
by on Apr 12, 2012 at 9:33:02 am