Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
MEDIA 100:Media 100 844/X ForumMedia 100 ForumMedia 100 TutorialsMedia 100

M100 digitizing problems

COW Forums : Media 100

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Scott56M100 digitizing problems
by on Feb 20, 2006 at 1:49:23 am

I've just upgraded to 7.5 xr with a 601 board in a 9600 G3 tower, running 9.2.2 and Quicktime 6.0.3. Don't laugh! I've been editing on M100 for 8 years starting with V 4 and have always enjoyed M100's simplicity, picture quality and system reliability. I'm having a problem digitizing through S-Video and Composite ports when working with archival and consumer VHS footage. The entire application and computer consistantly freezes up about every 3-5 minutes. Component Beta works fine. All other features of M100 work fine also once I get out of the digitizing mode. I'm still using the original Break out box sold me in 1997. Any ideas?

Thanks for any assistance you or your readers might provide. The site is great!

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Kieran MatthewRe: M100 digitizing problems
by on Feb 20, 2006 at 2:14:37 pm

This sounds like a time-base issue. The video output of VHS machines is unstable and produces noisy syncs. Normally a TV or monitor ignores the extra noise and locks to where it expects the syncs to be so you get a stable picture. Media 100 however is trying to lock to the incoming feed and is very choosey about the grade of sync it gets. Normally it is just about OK, but in particulary noisey bits such as dropouts, breaks in recording, fast-forward/rewind, or sometimes just normal playback, the system gives up and crashes as you describe.