Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Why SONY FX1 could be better than JVC GY-HD201E

COW Forums : JVC cameras/decks

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
tdavidWhy SONY FX1 could be better than JVC GY-HD201E
by on Apr 23, 2007 at 8:14:43 pm

Hello All,

Just thought I'd give everybody a heads up on the JVC HD200 series...

I am primarily an editor, occasionally a cameraman on small shoots. The crew I work for has been working with a Sony FX1 for about a year, and just invested in a JVC HD201E.

The Sony has been performing flawlessly, no footage ever lost or corrupted. Yes, it's only 50i and the image quality (colors, saturation, sharpness) is nowhere near as good and adjustable as the JVC, but it does the trick on projects for the internet.

The JVC is a professional camera, no doubt. 50p, razor-sharp picture (in the hands of a good cameraman), adjustable everything. But....

It's not meant to be handheld, due to it's weight. But that's fine, you can get used to it.

The real turndown, is that within 20 drum hours, the camera produced us 2 unusable 60 minute HDV tapes. With recording format set to HDV 50P, it ended up giving us a tape that is DV50I, while the other tape shows only images of the recorded footage every 5-10 seconds, and even those look jagged (not sure what's the word for an image that looks like it is made up of 40x50 pixels only).
The camera was used by professionals, who have been using other JVC HD cameras on movie productions, so misuse is out the question.

If these cameras require maintenance ever 20-30 drum hours, then this isn't a professional camera.