Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE FINAL CUT PRO:HomeFCP ForumFCP XFCPX TechniquesFCP TutorialsFC ServerBasics ForumPodcastFAQ

NVidia GeForce GTX 285 Sluggish Performance

COW Forums : Apple FCPX Techniques

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Don SmithNVidia GeForce GTX 285 Sluggish Performance
by on Mar 13, 2012 at 1:36:06 pm

I've got a Mac Pro 3,1 (2008) with 10GB of RAM and running 10.7.3 (Lion).

My graphics card is an NVidia GeForce GTX 285.

FCPX runs like a stubborn mule. I work in it but it's like pulling teeth sometime. Slow responses. Erratic behavior.

I had the same issues when using Snow Leopard.

I even rebuilt my boot drive and reinstalled apps instead of using migration assistant so that I wouldn't inherit garbage that had built up.

Am I missing something or is this the limit of this graphics card?

Thanks.

NewsVideo.com

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Steve ConnorRe: NVidia GeForce GTX 285 Sluggish Performance
by on Mar 13, 2012 at 5:40:20 pm

Matybe it's the 10.03 update which seems to have introduced a whole heap of sluggishness to some users systems.

I'm not getting much slowdown on my 3.1 Mac Pro with an ATi card though, It's certainly not as fast as 10.02 but it's not unusable!

Steve Connor
"FCPX Agitator"
Adrenalin Television

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

T. PaytonRe: NVidia GeForce GTX 285 Sluggish Performance
by on Mar 13, 2012 at 7:55:59 pm

[Don Smith] "My graphics card is an NVidia GeForce GTX 285.

FCPX runs like a stubborn mule."

Although I haven't done any systematic testing, from what I have gathered here and around the web, the ATI cards seem to do best with FCP X. I'm on a 2006 MacPro with a ATI Radeon 5770 and for the most part it is buttery smooth.