Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE FINAL CUT PRO:HomeFCP ForumFCP XFCPX TechniquesFCP TutorialsFC ServerBasics ForumPodcastFAQ

Multigroup in FCPX like you can in Avid?

COW Forums : Apple FCPX Techniques

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Uli KunkelMultigroup in FCPX like you can in Avid?
by on Apr 5, 2013 at 6:57:23 pm

Does anyone know if this is possible? I'm talking about multi-grouping, where you make a sync map on your timeline, subclip all your audio/video with aux timecode and group it all into one big clip. Thanks for your input. I'm new to FCPX.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Bill DavisRe: Multigroup in FCPX like you can in Avid?
by on Apr 5, 2013 at 7:45:16 pm

The Angle Editor in X has a version of what you seem to be looking for - but like most of X, if you expect it to be a direct transfer of processes that you're accustomed to in another editing app, you're in for a lot of disappointment.

It's really important to learn the way X does things - rather than trying to do the same things you do in another NLE - in X.

At first, the approach might look a bit similar - but underneath things, X is a very different beast.

For example, the Angle Editor essentially lives between the Event Browser and the Timeline as a separate stage workspace. It's "upstream" of the timeline. So if you start behind it, it's harder to understand where it fits.

Too many folks new to X dive into it by trying to build a timeline first - and that's closer to the END of the X editing workflow - not so much near the beginning.