Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE FINAL CUT PRO:HomeFCP ForumFCP XFCPX TechniquesFCP TutorialsFC ServerBasics ForumPodcastFAQ

Questions about FCP X and OpenCL

COW Forums : Apple FCPX Techniques

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Rich HayesQuestions about FCP X and OpenCL
by on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:13:37 pm

Hello, I'm new to FCP X and have some questions that I hope someone can help me with.

First, my hardware set up is a 3,1 Mac Pro running 10.8.2. The MP originally came with an ATI 2600. Last week I bought an nVidia GTX 470.

Originally, I was running FCP X on the MP with the ATI 2600 even though it is not OpenCL compatible. A dialog box would pop up at launch stating that the graphics wasn't supported but everything would work nonetheless.

Last week, I bought an nVidia GTX 470 because I wanted to try out Davinci Resolve and hoped that FCP X would be faster. So, I replaced the 2600 with the GTX. However, I started having problems. Whenever I would switch between FCP X and Safari I would get full system freezes and would have to do I hard restart.

I could not figure out why the freezes were happening so left the GTX in slot 1 and added the 2600 to slot 2. Monitor is plugged into the 2600. The freezes seem to have stopped. Resolve is happier this way anyway. What is curious to me is that FCP seems to detect that the GTX is present because the dialog box no longer pops up warning that I don't have a OpenCL compatible card even though the monitor is plugged into the 2600.

I guess my main questions are...

1. What does FCP X and Motion use OpenCL for?
2. How is FCP X and Motion seeing that I have an OpenCL compatible card installed even though the monitor is plugged into the 2600?