Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE FINAL CUT PRO:HomeFCP ForumFCP XFCPX TechniquesFCP TutorialsFC ServerBasics ForumPodcastFAQ

Is it wise to start out with FCPX?

COW Forums : Apple FCPX or Not: The Debate

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Josiah GravesIs it wise to start out with FCPX?
by on May 30, 2012 at 12:34:30 am

I am a student and have worked on multiple freelance editing projects in the past. I purchased the dirt cheap student priced Avid Media Composer to learn on simply based on the fact that it is the broadcast industry standard. My question is, as someone who is relatively new, is it a smart idea to begin with something like FCPX as opposed to Avid or Premiere?

As I've looked at the discussion it seems that much (though not all) of unhappiness caused by FCPX is that it requires professionals to completely relearn the way they have edited. It seems like Apple has been trying to break out of the mold that was created back when film was first invented and is trying to create something on par with the capability of technology today. Is it wise to take advantage of this sort of clean slate and go with what is brand new?

On the other hand Apple has seemed to be moving away from the professional as a whole. Not only has their software seemed to have professional users as an afterthought but their hardware has also seemed to be lagging. The Mac Pro just as an example is falling behind and seems to have no update in sight.

So, is it wise to ride along with Apple's revolutionary mentality, or have they left the professional behind in pursuit of the consumer?

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Craig SeemanRe: Is it wise to start out with FCPX?
by on May 30, 2012 at 12:50:10 am