Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Noob with LTO-5: mount point failed as "specified but not accessible" or "no such file or directory"

COW Forums : Archiving and Back-Up

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Marshall WettaNoob with LTO-5: mount point failed as "specified but not accessible" or "no such file or directory"
by on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:48:23 pm

I am a newbie to LTO devices and am in charge of all media traffic and archiving at a small LA-based production company.

I am having trouble with mounting my LTO 5 device to my iMac. My boss was able to successfully mount another LTO 5 device on a slightly more powerful iMac than the one I use, but he remembers having 2 days worth of problems before fixing an "obvious and minuscule" detail in order to get the device to work. We are having the same problem with mounting the device to my brand new iMac and we need some help.

Here is my hardware information:

iMac with OS 10.7.4 2.7GHz Intel i5 Processor; 4GB memory

Tandberg Data LTO deck with a Promise Technology converter from fibre to Thunderbolt cable using HP LTO-5 Ultrium RW data cartridges.

I have followed the HP install instructions as follows:
1. Downloaded OSXFuse because I saw that it is newer than Macfuse and has a patch to be backwards compatible with the functions of Macfuse.
2. Downloaded HPLTFS_BINARIES.dmg, opened it and installed the ICUFramework.pkg first, and then I installed the LinearTapeFileSystem.pkg
3. I opened terminal and attempted to mount an LTO tape that has already been formatted and written on.
Here is where we encountered the problem. This is the transcript of my terminal commands:

"Last login: Mon Jul 23 14:51:42 on console