Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE PREMIERE PRO:HomeTutorialsForumArticlesPodcastsBasics ForumCreative Cloud Debate

Can you "snap" razor tool like FCP

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Dustin BowserCan you "snap" razor tool like FCP
by on Jun 17, 2010 at 9:12:37 pm

Hey, so I'm a Final Cut Pro editor trying out Premiere CS5 because of all the cool new features, and the fact that it swaps between After Effects nicely. I do a lot of VFX and Compositing so this was an interesting proposition.

Anyway, I'm trying to figure out all the weird little nuances that are different from the way I'm using to working. One of them is, can the razor tool "snap" to an edit point like in FCP. There are a lot of times when I'll make a cut based on an edit point of video or audio that happens to be on another track, so I want the cut I'm about to make to "snap" to this point. In premiere, when snapping is on, the razor tool doesn't exhibit the same behavior. I know that there is the "Razor Tracks" command, but this is also super annoying because it will razor any track that is selected. This just creates several more click strokes to make sure I've got the right track selected, when all I want to do is reach in a make a super quick cut.