Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Lighting for DSLR green screen shoot

COW Forums : DSLR Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Jessica MarasovicLighting for DSLR green screen shoot
by on Feb 22, 2011 at 2:27:30 pm

Hello,

I am a photographer with a small studio (60 m3) and a backdrop of 9' x 12' .

I only have photographic lights (2 x elinchrom 400w) and wish to purchase some continuous lighting equipment to allow me to shoot green screen video and a pull a key easily from the footage.

What kind of lights would be best as well as any general tips and information I may need to take into consideration would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Richard HarringtonRe: Lighting for DSLR green screen shoot
by on Feb 22, 2011 at 3:11:38 pm

DSLR and greenscreen is not a great combo due to the compression.

If you insist on doing it... then go with broad lights like KinoFlos and evenly light the background.

Also get as much distance from BG and FG as possible,

Richard M. Harrington, PMP

Author: From Still to Motion, Video Made on a Mac, Photoshop for Video, Understanding Adobe Photoshop, Final Cut Studio On the Spot and Motion Graphics with Adobe Creative Suite 5 Studio Techniques

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Jonathan ZieglerRe: Lighting for DSLR green screen shoot
by on Feb 22, 2011 at 4:39:29 pm

DSLRs have some unique challenges when shooting green screen, but have some advantages over video.