Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

True no budget setup for grading, what are the best options?

COW Forums : DaVinci Resolve

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Gabriel BergeronTrue no budget setup for grading, what are the best options?
by on Apr 12, 2012 at 12:11:30 am

Hi everyone,

I'm an editor (with a big background in photography) who's started to use and learn Resolve to be able to grade small budget projects to complement the editing.

I started to search for information on what kind of really cheap setup I could do to reference the image properly when grading.
The computer I have set up at the studio right now is an iMac 27"
I read A LOT of threads here and stuff on the web and I must say I'm quite confused. Since a lot of threads deal with various color space and gamma, footage from various source, information might not be relevant and change depending on the situation. Also a lot of threads on "grading on a budget" do have quite a budget… ;)

What I gathered is this, please correct me if applicable:
- To grade a small feature or a short film on a budget I should be doing this in REC709
- With DaVinci there is no way to output the image on an external monitor through the Mac's thunderbolt connection directly. (you can only output the scopes)
- The ideal thing would be to work from a reference monitor with a computer sending an output through a deck to a second display like a plasma.

SOLUTIONS I'M SEEING: