Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Theory and Practice of Music Bed Volume Levels

COW Forums : Art of the Edit

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
MarkofCainTheory and Practice of Music Bed Volume Levels
by on Sep 8, 2006 at 12:33:44 pm

I'm a self taught newbie (10 months on Adobe Video Collection) and would like some input from those with more experience and or specific training on the use of audio levels on a music bed.

The type of video work I do mainly is personal testimony videos that are 6 to 12 minutes in length. I usually lay a music bed beneath the voice over to set the mood. As I get further into this type of work, I have unanswered questions about the use of the music bed.

1) AT what volume level should the music bed be played? (I think I recall that for live events the dB of the person on stage should be 24 dB above the dB of the floor noise). Is there a "rule" like that for music beds?

2) Should the music bed volume levels rise and fall or remain constant? What is your practice?

3) If there is a period of silence, should the music bed volume level be pushed up at that point?

4) If yes to 3) how long does the silence need to be before the volume levels of the music bed get pushed up? I mean, if someone on the video takes a deep breath and pauses to think for a moment (and that needs to be included in the video to show emotion/mood), should the level go up then? or only on 5 or 6 second pauses like for transitions?

Thanks for your help. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated and considered.

Mark Cain
Sarasota, FL USA

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Mark RaudonisRe: Theory and Practice of Music Bed Volume Levels
by on Sep 8, 2006 at 1:49:59 pm

Mark,