Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE FINAL CUT PRO:HomeFCP ForumFCP XFCPX TechniquesFCP TutorialsFC ServerBasics ForumPodcastFAQ

Where to start learning FCS?

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Server

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Rob FabianoWhere to start learning FCS?
by on Jun 14, 2010 at 3:06:32 pm

Other than the books that came with FCS (I've ordered "Getting Started with FCS") does anyone have advice for a beginner as to where to start? I'm a hands on kind of learner and have been looking for "best practices" kind of examples for starting out but haven't found anything yet. Any advice would be tremendously appreciated. Thanks.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Jennifer VeileRe: Where to start learning FCS?
by on Jun 16, 2010 at 5:01:04 pm

I am self-taught and am actually currently creating some video tutorials (hopefully I will post them online soon). I found the tutorials on http://www.wonderhowto.com/ a good place to start for the very basics. Are you an administrator or an end-user only? If you are an end-user, the system should be simple (based on how good of a job the admin. did setting it up). If you are setting it up yourself my biggest piece of advice is to learn the structure of sets, groups, fields, and lookups. Once you understand the purpose of these things and how your organization is going to use it, you are golden. Wrapping your mind around that is the most important thing, because it informs your decisions on what to create. Also, think of metadata with searching in mind. The only reason to include metadata is so it is retrievable later.

Jennifer Veile, MLS
Video Librarian

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Rob FabianoRe: Where to start learning FCS?
by on Jun 17, 2010 at 3:18:11 pm