Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Need help convert PSD layers to Ai layers

COW Forums : Adobe Illustrator

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
David RowanNeed help convert PSD layers to Ai layers
by on Sep 26, 2008 at 7:46:00 pm

Total noob here trying to get the logo I designed in Photoshop converted to a vector graphics.

I still have all the seperate layers, and I can bring them into Ai and live trace them and they look fine, but when I try to overlap them the transparent area around the objects has become a solid white. I'm sure this is just some setting or something, right?

How can I bring objects from Ps into Ai and trace the shape without creating a white background?

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Joe RugbyRe: Need help convert PSD layers to Ai layers
by on Sep 26, 2008 at 8:09:25 pm

Find clipping paths in your manual.

Cheers,

Joe

L.O.A.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

David RowanRe: Need help convert PSD layers to Ai layers
by on Sep 26, 2008 at 9:25:19 pm

Well, I keep trying to create a clipping mask. The closest I got to something that works is by reffering to a layer mask that was imported along with the object. That shows up in the transparency window. I just can't make it do anything.

The book says "create an object" and use it as the clipping mask, but I need to turn the object I already have into the clipping mask, I guess. I see the buttons, but nothing happens when I click them.

DWR

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Jeff KelleyRe: Need help convert PSD layers to Ai layers
by on Sep 26, 2008 at 10:28:34 pm