Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
SONY VEGAS:Sony Vegas TutorialsSony Vegas ForumArticlesBasics ForumBlack Magic Design ForumAJA Xena Forum

GPU acceleration, when does it work? does it? & on what formatts, MAYBE NOT ALL?

COW Forums : Sony Vegas

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Shawn BossickGPU acceleration, when does it work? does it? & on what formatts, MAYBE NOT ALL?
by on Apr 26, 2012 at 6:27:19 am

Hello all! I have been working with Vegas for 8 years now, editing in HD has been difficult, to say the least.

Im on windows 7 64 bit
I have an intel i7-2600k CPU @3.40 GHz
16.0 GB of ram
& my operating system is on a solid state kick ass FAST drive

a week ago I had an old Radeon 4670 Graphic card, with no GPU acceleration on it, after reading sony's recommendations on what graphic cards to get to utilize GPU because of HOW MUCH FASTER it is, I said LET"S DO THIS! I Bought at their recommendation a NVIDIA GTX 570 put it into my system, updated the drivers, went into Vegas into the video preference tab & engaged the GPU & to my surprise the system is STUTTERING like CRAZY!! 24 hours later I could not improve the performance AT ALL, the following day I went out & bought a second card, a Radeon HD 6950 with 2 gigs of ram, it did not help AT ALL, 3rd day I went out & bought a new FAST solid state drive & put windows 7 64 bit on it, uploaded ALL my programs to this new drive, now the computer is hauling, right? maybe so but not in Vegas, it has done NOTHING. Stutter, Stutter & more STUTTER!!