Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
SONY VEGAS:Sony Vegas TutorialsSony Vegas ForumArticlesBasics ForumBlack Magic Design ForumAJA Xena Forum

Vegas Pro11 Upgrade system compatibility warning

COW Forums : Sony Vegas

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Brad WhiteVegas Pro11 Upgrade system compatibility warning
by on Nov 5, 2011 at 11:11:25 pm

I've been using Vegas Pro 9 and 10 for the last several years and generally happy.
Recently, Sonycreativesoftware.com sent me an email offering a Vegas Pro 11 "upgrade" for a great price plus some bonus features. I ordered it and just tried to install it. Short story, it does not work with an XP operating system; only with Vista and Win 7.
I know that now because I read the fine print on the box. However, the promotional email I received from Sony has no reference to "system requirements" and does not mention that Pro 11 will not work with XP.
I've been using XP for many years and have resisited going to Win 7 because XP has been very stable for me. I realize that I'm falling behind in technology and that Microsoft generally doesn't support XP any longer. However, converting to Win 7 on my current computer (3-4 years old) won't work without replacing my Intel motherboard (legacy) as it does not have drivers available for Win 7.
Sorry for the rant, but I wanted to alert other potential users of Pro 11 that they should confirm their computer platform is compatible before purchasing.
Brad White

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Stephen MannRe: Vegas Pro11 Upgrade system compatibility warning
by on Nov 5, 2011 at 11:28:16 pm

I can see your point. I agree that nowhere in the email or on the order page does Sony tell the buyer that Version 11 won't work on a discontinued O/S.

Steve Mann
MannMade Digital Video