Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
SONY VEGAS:Sony Vegas TutorialsSony Vegas ForumArticlesBasics ForumBlack Magic Design ForumAJA Xena Forum

How do I fix out of sync audio?

COW Forums : Sony Vegas

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Tony MoulatsiotisHow do I fix out of sync audio?
by on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:46:57 am

Hi everyone,

Just before I describe the issue these are my system specs
Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Quad Core Phenom X4 3.4ghz
4 GB DDR2 800
Dual GTX 460 graphics cards
onboard realtek audio

And I'm using Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD

I'm new to using Sony Vegas, which is why I don't know/can't figure out how to fix this problem I'm having.

I record a lot of video game footage using the video recorder FRAPS. My computer is quite good, and I have experimented with many different recording settings in FRAPS, even lowering the FPS, resolution it records at, etc, and there is always an audio sync issue.

My problem is that for some reason, the audio gradually becomes more and more out of sync the longer my recording goes on for.

After 2 minutes it's approximately 0.5 seconds out of sync. In my case, the audio plays BEFORE the video does.

I was able to fix it pretty easily before because when I opened up the raw video file in Vegas, the audio track was showing slightly shorter than the video track, and I was able to just extend it out to the same time as the video file and it would fix the problem. I'm not sure what the actual action/function is called but I would un-group the video and audio tracks, then ctrl+left click drag the end of the audio track to match up with the video track.