Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

Animated graph?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
leemceAnimated graph?
by on Sep 25, 2006 at 12:46:50 am

Hi,

Are there any tutorials that someone here might know about (or other suggestions) that would shorten my learning curve in creating an animated graph, such as an animated bar graph or perhaps a line graph? I want to create such a graph to layer on top of some other video to shown growth in a market for a client. I have ideas about how to do it but, not being an AE pro, I thought it was to ask for guidance from the gurus.

TIA for any help.

Cheers,

Lee

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Steve RobertsRe: Animated graph?
by on Sep 25, 2006 at 1:17:10 am

If you had $495, you could buy this plugin.

If not, you could do a line graph by creating a new solid, drawing a mask (point by point) with the pen tool, then applying the stroke effect to that solid. By animating the stroke's end point parameter with keyframes, you can make the graph grow.

For a bar graph, you could make a bunch of solids, each to the desired size and color, then you could use the pan behind tool and drag the anchor point to the bottom of each solid, so when you scale their height up or down, they scale from the bottom as you'd expect a bar graph to do.

That's about it -- if you don't understand any of the terms in italics, check the AE help.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

leemceRe: Animated graph?
by on Sep 25, 2006 at 1:35:24 am