Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE COLOR:HomeApple Color TutorialsApple Color ForumApple Color

Couple of Questions from a Color Noob...

COW Forums : Apple Color

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Tim AdamsonCouple of Questions from a Color Noob...
by on Dec 4, 2012 at 3:30:02 am

So as a student, I'm trying to get as much out of Color as I can without all the added equipment.

That is, I don't have any trucolor monitor or more than one screen to work off so I have couple of questions that I've had a really difficult time finding an answer to because 'color' isn't the most specific keyword for google...

So 1: is it at all possible to view my graded image full screen on the same monitor?

And 2: I'm finding my colour keys don't do so well at coping with motion blur and give these large outlines to moving objects. What's the best way to fix this, is there some sort of edge feathering option or what?

I guess I'm just having a hard time blending my colour grades and a feathering option would help immensely. I think there's some artifacting occuring (I'm not sure if AVCHD -> prores 422 is the best for grading...) but I can't quite tell because my preview is so small... Also, I've tried 'Key Blur' and it doesn't seem to be helping. Should I just do it in after effects?

Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Joseph OwensRe: Couple of Questions from a Color Noob...
by on Dec 4, 2012 at 5:58:48 pm

Question 1, with a single screen, no.

Question 2. You have discovered Key Blur, which is all there is in Apple COLOR. It was a deficiency, as it does not have a dilate/erode modifier, either.