Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Setting up a simple broadcast studio

COW Forums : Broadcasting

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Peter SilvermanSetting up a simple broadcast studio
by on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:54:02 pm

Hello,

I'm a 10 year veteran of the film and video world but have no experience in live TV. I've been asked by a client to create an in-house studio with the ability to send out a live HD video feed to TV stations around the country.

Leaving out the camera, lights, and sound gear, what kind of infrastructure needs to be installed and what hardware needs to be purchased in order to achieve this goal?

Thanks in advance,

Peter Silverman
Silverman Media Services LLC
Washington, DC

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Dave LaRondeRe: Setting up a simple broadcast studio
by on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:12:47 pm

Now, THAT, sir, is an extremely loaded question! In my experience, there really isn't such a thing as a "simple" broadcast studio.

Here is just the briefest of equipment lists. It is by NO means complete!!! Do not take it as gospel in any way, shape or form!
Video Switcher
Routing switcher
Audio board
Audio batch bay
Audio record & playback equipment
Teleprompter system
Character generator
Sync generator
Video recording & playback equipment
Satellite uplink & downlink

Your task goes far, FAR beyond simple equipment purchases and hooking everything up.

This is why there are companies that do nothing but design studios. They've been there and done that. They know the questions to ask. They know all the gotchas. They know the technical specifications. They know how to get all the gear to talk to each other, an essential in the digital age.