Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
SONY VEGAS:Sony Vegas TutorialsSony Vegas ForumArticlesBasics ForumBlack Magic Design ForumAJA Xena Forum

Sony Vegas 11 keeps crashing

COW Forums : Sony Vegas basics

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Bill SmithSony Vegas 11 keeps crashing
by on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:17:38 pm

Complete newbie here. Recently installed Vegas 11 and it's crashed every time I've used it so far. I've noticed it freezes whenever a add a video effect to a clip, which I assume means my graphics card isn't up to par? I'm not sure what's required for Vegas, but I know I have and Intel HD Graphics 4000 card. Is that my issue?

In any case, I stumbled across this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2CbFdVVvbI and turned my GPU accelerated video processing off as it suggested, and so far I haven't had any freezes. Though that brings up some other questions:

First - what did this change of settings actually do?

Next - I've captured my film using an Elgato 720p res and I want to upload to youtube in full HD. Will I still be able to render videos in full HD settings with this option turned off?

Last - Does my graphics card affect/determine the quality of video I can render?

Thanks for any and all help! :)

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Phil PeacockRe: Sony Vegas 11 keeps crashing
by on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:29:23 am

Bill, from issues that others have had and from my own experience, if your video card (i.e. GPU) is not up to the speed of your processor then turning OFF your GPU is the ONLY way to go, as you have discovered.