Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE PREMIERE PRO:HomeTutorialsForumArticlesPodcastsBasics ForumCreative Cloud Debate

Exporting video with small file size best codec

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro basics

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
max sidorovExporting video with small file size best codec
by on Oct 10, 2008 at 7:43:02 am

Im a super newb at this stuff and have tried to edumocate myself as much as possible and have tried exporting my video to a million combinations of the best codecs but the file size is super huge regardless.

My video:
50 minute quicktime video 640x480 thats 100 megs by itself.
All i did in premiere pro 2.0 is add some titles (2) and some mp3 music at the beginning and end (does that affect file size?) thats it. When i export my video i get like 3 gigs minimum for decent video quality(wtf) when the original video thats 100 megs is great by itself. Somehow when i export it, it becomes super gigantic and becomes worse quality.. i dont get that. I want to save the original video quality (which is better in the original, than when i try to export unless the size is ginormous like 10 gis or more). I have tried h246, 263 and 261(crappy), avi, quicktime, and about a million combination with other codecs and file size is still huge. Is there any way i can stay under 500 megs (my original vid is only 100!!!!) and have the same quality vid and sound?

Pls anyone if you know anything about exporting and codecs your help will be MUCH appreciated (i have been fiddling with codecs and different variation of exporting for about a week now, my cpu is poopy so i have to wait :(. Thank you in advance.
Max

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Simon BonnerRe: Exporting video with small file size best codec
by on Oct 10, 2008 at 2:47:31 pm