Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

how to trim in points on multiple tracks on timeline in AE CS6

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects basics

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Bob Sawyerhow to trim in points on multiple tracks on timeline in AE CS6
by on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:28:56 pm

HI!
AE Newbie here, so I'm sorry if this is REALLY basic....

I've go a comp that is made up of 6 various elements on their own tracks in the timeline, each coming into the "picture" at various times, all coming to a final rest at about 11 seconds...total time is 2 min 30 seconds, what I need to do to "cut" every track so the "NEW" start time is at the 15 second point, where everything has been at rest for 4 seconds. then move all the tracks to the 0 marker ( beginning of the timeline..) so when I play the comp, the NEW beginning @ 00:00:00:00 or starting point is where I made the cut at 00:00:15:00. Sounds simple enough, and it is in premiere. apparently not so much in AE.

This is what I've done so far....
1] with my time marker at 15sec where I want the cut to occur, I used the "[" key to trim the start point of each track.. I left the end points for each track alone because they don't need to change... yet. so now I have at the 15 second mark, all the tracks beginning at the same time, which is the point in the animation I now want to be my starting point.
2] So now I need to move all the tracks to the beginning of the timeline, so I "select all" and slide them to the "0" beginning point of the timeline... all looks good..all the tracks are lined up at "0"...BUT