Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

CC Light Burst Interfering With 3D Text Masking

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects basics

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Scott BulmerCC Light Burst Interfering With 3D Text Masking
by on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:12:19 am

As a newbie I am trying to work through a sample tutorial project originally demonstrated by Maxafter.com with more explanation here graciously by John Cuevas, however I am stuck at one step outlined below.

It should be noted that the end result is a replica of the Universal Studios introduction where a title orbits around the Earth, with the earth emanating bursts of light at the same time that the title is revealed.

The project file works reasonably well with one exception as follows:
The issue as illustrated in the attached image is that when the Composition (Earth Texture Alpha 2kB) containing the Light Bursts is visible and on, the Light Bursts appear correct however the 3D Text appears incorrectly, unmasked by the Earth. When that Composition is invisible and off, the 3D Text appears correctly masked by the Earth, but there are no Light Bursts. The goal is to have both the 3D Text masked by the Earth in addition to emanating Light Bursts from the Earth.

Is this a simple adjustment or am I way off base? Thank you for any comments, Scott

Mac Pro Quad Core, OS X 10.8.2, CS6

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Vishesh AroraRe: CC Light Burst Interfering With 3D Text Masking
by on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:29:49 am

Scott

If you are using Ray-traced 3D renderer then there are few limitations.
Check this:

Limitations of the Ray-traced 3D renderer

Vishesh Arora
3D and Motion Graphics Artist