Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

How to loop after effects compositions

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects basics

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Stephen ChauvetteHow to loop after effects compositions
by on Jan 22, 2011 at 9:27:45 am

Hello,

I have a composition of the earth rotating. I am going to be using this as a portion of my background on my website.

1. How can I get a composition to loop over and over again?(infinite)

2. What would be the best way to convert the after effects file into an swf file that would give me the lowest file size possible and still have decent quality?

I am pretty new to after effects so if someone would not mind giving an explanation for a beginner that would be awesome. I would very much appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Joey ForemanRe: How to loop after effects compositions
by on Jan 22, 2011 at 2:43:16 pm

Well, you can't loop a composition but you can loop a footage file as many times as you want.
Render the composition, import it, then right click on the clip in the Project Panel and open the Interpret Footage dialog. That's where you set the loop.
Keep in mind, though, you want the loop to be seamless. One way to accomplish this is, rather than render the entire length of the comp, set the work area back one frame from the last.

You can also loop individual animation parameters of a layer such as rotation with an expression, and possibly parent several layers to a null which has a looped rotation.

Different ways to skin a cat.

I don't render SWF's at all so I'll let someone else take that up for you.

Joey Foreman
Editor/Compositor/VFX Artist