Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

trim comp layer in and out (keyboard shortcut) ""mac""

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects basics

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Rui Pedro Sousatrim comp layer in and out (keyboard shortcut) ""mac""
by on Jun 25, 2010 at 10:50:54 am

Hey i have some experience with After and i actually work at special effects in a movie company and i love to use keyboard shortcuts.. After searching i have find that the way to trim a layer to an in or out point where my pointer is, is to press [ or ] .. or (option + [)= or (option + ])..

the thing is that none of that works... i've tryed to change the shortcuts and no luck... so.. how can i trim (with the keyboard) a layer to an in or out point selected by me?

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Kevin CampRe: trim comp layer in and out (keyboard shortcut) ""mac""
by on Jun 25, 2010 at 2:35:23 pm

those keyboard shortcuts work for me... the brackets set the in\outpoint to the current time position; opt+brackets trim the selected layers' in/outpoints to the current time position.

if you wanted to change the workarea of the comp (which is kind of like the comp's in/outpoints), you can do that by typing 'b' for 'inpoint' or 'n' for the outpoint -- i suppose it's really 'b' for beginning of workarea and 'n' for end of workarea.

Kevin Camp
Senior Designer
KCPQ, KMYQ & KRCW

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Rui Pedro SousaRe: trim comp layer in and out (keyboard shortcut) ""mac""
by on Jun 25, 2010 at 4:35:49 pm