Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

Animating a line drawing?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects basics

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Caitlin Folchman-WagnerAnimating a line drawing?
by on Mar 23, 2008 at 1:11:59 pm

Hi, I've never used After Effects before, but I need to figure out how to animate a line drawing. Its a simple image drawing itself, but I have no idea how to do it.
Thanks a lot

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Dave LaRondeRe: Animating a line drawing?
by on Mar 24, 2008 at 6:48:15 pm

[Caitlin Folchman-Wagner] "I need to figure out how to animate a line drawing."

Okay, first things first: we need to establish how this artwork currently exists.
• If it's something like a hand-made drawing on paper, is it a photograph or a scan?
• Even better for your purposes, is it an adobe illustrator document that you could modify?

There are a few ways to do this. They're all variations on a theme: animating white-on-black (or opaque-on-transparent) lines, Which in turn reveal the lines of the artwork. The benefits of each depend on what you're comfy working with in AE, the timings you need to hit and how accurate the reveals have to be.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Caitlin Folchman-WagnerRe: Animating a line drawing?
by on Mar 25, 2008 at 9:56:43 pm