Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE FINAL CUT PRO:HomeFCP ForumFCP XFCPX TechniquesFCP TutorialsFC ServerBasics ForumPodcastFAQ

Removing video effect.

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro basics

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Bruce RawlingsRemoving video effect.
by on Aug 19, 2008 at 6:45:54 am

I'm new to FCP from Avid and cannot find way of removing a cross dissolve or video effect from the video timeline - I know it must be a simple procedure, but......

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Don GreeningRe: Removing video effect.
by on Aug 19, 2008 at 7:59:53 am

Highlight the clip you want to remove the effect from and choose "Remove Attributes" from the Edit menu. To remove a cross dissolve just highlight it and hit the delete key. I can't remember if it's important for both of the above but make sure you have the selection tool active otherwise you may not be able to select the cross dissolve to delete it.

- Don

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Bruce RawlingsRe: Removing video effect.
by on Aug 19, 2008 at 10:17:45 am

Thanks Don.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

David thayerRe: Removing video effect.
by on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:42:17 am

I have a clip onto which I have stretched the cross dissolve over the entire clip. I can neither delete the cross dissolve nor move the clip. If I select the clip I can only delete the entire clip. The right-click attributes are different when the cross dissolve covers the entire clip. Zooming in doesn't help either. I cannot find a handle on which to shorten the cross dissolve. What am I to do?

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Tom WolskyRe: Removing video effect.
by on Apr 16, 2009 at 11:28:52 am

Double click on the transition to open it into the viewer. Shorten it there so you can grab it.