Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

After Effects CS4 does not render the whole composition

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Philip JacobsAfter Effects CS4 does not render the whole composition
by on Aug 17, 2010 at 4:15:43 pm

Hi,
I have a 0:02:33 video I've put together and for whatever reason, after effects will not render the whole thing. It stops at 50 seconds then posts a Failed on the render que. I can go and watch what it did produce, but stops at 50 secs. I'm new to after effects and curious where the logs are stored and if anyone knows why this may be doing this.
I'm sure you'll need more info, just be specific and I will answer to my best knowledge.

Thanks!

Philip Jacobs
Messenjah Media

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Dave LaRondeRe: After Effects CS4 does not render the whole composition
by on Aug 17, 2010 at 4:24:07 pm

I bet it's the footage in your comp. Before AE 10 came along, it was a very common problem. So common, in fact, I made up a canned answer to save time:

Dave's Stock Answer #1:

If the footage you imported into AE is any kind of the following -- footage in an HDV acquisition codec, MPEG1, MPEG2, AVCHD, mp4, mts, m2t, H.261 or H.264 -- you need to convert it to a different codec.

These kinds of footage use temporal, or interframe compression. They have keyframes at regular intervals, containing complete frame information. However, the frames in between do NOT have complete information. Interframe codecs toss out duplicated information.