Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

Compositing with depth passes in AE

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Tobias AndersenCompositing with depth passes in AE
by on Aug 8, 2010 at 5:24:23 pm

Hello,

I am very new to After Effects and I am trying to use it to do some basic compositing.

I have (made from Softimage) two render passes with two corresponding depth passes. I'd like to be able to composite my two render passes taking the depth from the depth pass into account.

How is this possible in After Effects? :) Haven't been able to find help about this topic.

Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Todd KoprivaRe: Compositing with depth passes in AE
by on Aug 8, 2010 at 5:32:49 pm

You probably want to start by reading "About 3D Channel effects" and then check out the 3D Channel effects.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
Technical Support for professional video software
After Effects Help & Support
Premiere Pro Help & Support
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Walter SoykaRe: Compositing with depth passes in AE
by on Aug 8, 2010 at 5:39:40 pm

In addition to the resources Todd pointed out, Frischluft Lenscare is a really nice third-party DoF plugin.

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking