Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

Luma Key or Chroma Key Shoot for White Background Compositing?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Paul CarpenterLuma Key or Chroma Key Shoot for White Background Compositing?
by on May 14, 2012 at 9:36:21 am

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here and I'm also pretty new to the wonderful world of AE. I hope you someone can help!

I am about to shoot for a vfx sequence to be made in After Effects CS5.5. It will include sportspeople performing on-the-spot moves to camera. Footage is to be composited into a pure white 3D space along with some vector art assets and other effects. The result will be a clean and minimal virtual 3d set with moving cameras.

I have been working towards a green screen shoot for this task but have no experience with full-length chroma key, which worries me. I have however, done full length luma key with static subjects and that worked a treat.

For this project,some of my performers will be hopping around on BMX bikes, dancing and doing acrobatics. This obviously adds a lot of potential motion issues and particularly chroma reflection issues.

I have started to wonder, given that my virtual set will be white with no discernable 'floor', would I be better of shooting for a luma key rather than a chroma key?