Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

Object Removal with shaky cam and a truck out.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Teresa LeongObject Removal with shaky cam and a truck out.
by on Sep 20, 2011 at 10:14:18 pm

Hey Everyone,

This might be a very amateur question (but I am an amateur!). I've been working on object removal on this short for the past week, and based of a tutorial I found somewhere on the internet this is what i've been doing in After Effects:

I have been using After Effects CS5.5

-Roto/Mask out the offending object on one layer of the footage.
-Take another copy of the footage and move it over so that it seems offending object is no longer in the way
-add various effects to the footage copy to match the original

It worked for 3/5 shots I was working on, but then I ran into a more complicated situation. The Camera is now shaky and trucks out. So now when I use my previous method (i'm replacing telephone pole crossbars with the mountain in the BG) the mountain looks like it's awkwardly moving in that one spot. I've looked through the tutorials here/and other forums and they all suggested:
-Fixing the frame in photoshop
-Roto out offending areas
-Add some effects to match the two layers.

This method sounds all good and fun, but how do i make a clean plate with a truck out? and then match that image back to the original footage?

If someone could answer this problem soon I'd really appreciate it! I'm supposed to hand these files over in 12 hours!!!

Help! Thanks for reading!

Here's the original footage to give you some ideas on what I need to do. As I said the crossbars have to be removed: