Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE FLASH:HomeFlash ForumFlash TutorialsFlash Video TutorialsWeb Streaming ForumAdobe FlashPodcast

Problems getting SWF to not auto-play on page load.

COW Forums : Adobe Flash

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Jack JosephyProblems getting SWF to not auto-play on page load.
by on Nov 26, 2009 at 5:55:04 pm

First of all let me say I have no Flash experience. I know some javascript and I'm completely profecient at XHTML and CSS, but I don't know anything about actonscript yet and my knowledge of video formats is limited

I have been trying to embed an .SWF file in a website. The file was given to me by someone else (whos knowledge is even more limited than mine) along with the embed HTML code. It had been published in Adobe CS3 from a F4V file and had no skin or controls.

I managed to get the video playing using a standard HTML embed technique.

However using play="false" in the and similar commands would not stop it auto-playing. I literally tried everything and followed loads of forum discussion threads. I figured it could be something to do with my version of Firefox (3.5) because thats what I was testing in, so I tried it in IE with no fix of the problem still.

Then I did some research and found out about swfobject.js. http://code.google.com/p/swfobject/

I figured this was a better technique anyway, particularly for browser cross compatibility and SEO, and managed to get the video playing using the SWFObject dynamic publishing technique.

However I still had no control over - var params = {Play: "false"} - even though params such as - {wmode: "transparent"}; - were working fine.

This has led me to the conclusion that the auto-play function is hard coded into the .swf file.

My first question is: