Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
MAXON CINEMA 4D:Cinema 4D ForumCinema 4D TutorialsCinema 4D TagAdobe After Effects Forum

Animating a falling box

COW Forums : Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Richard WindsorAnimating a falling box
by on Feb 19, 2012 at 10:31:52 pm

I am trying to animate a box falling onto a table. I can and have just animated it falling in a traditional manner with the keyframes, but I wanted to create more of a realistic feeling instead (it falling and moving around slightly due to a very slight bounce-back.

I am fairly new to Cinema 4D and I am at a bit of a loss at how the mograph stuff works sometimes. I tried making both the box and the table I built rigid bodies, but there is no way (at least that I cannot see) to animate it falling and hitting the table. Can this effect only be done a certain way or is there a better way to control it?

If anyone knows of a really good tutorial on making this kind of animation work please let me know...Thanks

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Carlos AngeliRe: Animating a falling box
by on Feb 19, 2012 at 11:12:39 pm

Hi. From what I understand you are trying to do, the best way for the box to fall naturally, would be to add a rigid body tag to the box and a collider tag to the plane/floor. Hit play and that's it.

You can then tweak the dynamic properties, to get different bouncing, etc. for the box.

Also, I would advice you to check Nick Campbell's blog, as it is one the best C4D blogs out there (full of tutorials). http://greyscalegorilla.com/blog/category/cinema4d/

Go trough the first set of tutorials and you'll find plenty of rigid body examples.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Richard WindsorRe: Animating a falling box
by on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:18:50 am