Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
MAXON CINEMA 4D:Cinema 4D ForumCinema 4D TutorialsCinema 4D TagAdobe After Effects Forum

bad HAIR day

COW Forums : Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
cow
hunter christybad HAIR day
by on Jun 8, 2008 at 10:06:12 pm

hey everyone. i'm a little new to cinema 4d, but i'm having some MAJOR problems with the hair module.

i did a test render of a model i'm working on, moving it from left to right, and then rotating a little. the hair is penetrating the head mesh, acting really bizarre and jutting out in random directions, and it appears like some of the hair is actually moving AGAINST the dynamics, meaning: the hair is moving backwards, except the eyebrows and sideburns are moving forwards.

i've added a hair collider tag to the head mesh. is this wrong? once i've add the tag, do i have to specify anything else? i know i'm missing something. i just have no idea what.

here's the reference file rendered out.

http://thebighonkin.com/hairtest_1.mov

THE BiG HONKIN'
"The Defenders Of Stan"-lots of after effects

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

cow
Brian JonesRe: bad HAIR day
by on Jun 9, 2008 at 3:47:48 am

Hard to know without the scene but - are all the polys aligned? What kind of forces are there (bounce, friction etc), and it looks like hair is intersecting the mesh at the end, so again the question about the mesh - are the normals aligned and pointing outwards?

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

cow
hunter christyRe: bad HAIR day
by on Jun 9, 2008 at 9:22:58 pm

ok...hmm. how do i say this without coming across as a TOTAL newb.

i'm a total newb and i'm not really sure if my normals are aligned. and as far as i can tell, i haven't added any forces except turning on the collision in the hair.