Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
MAXON CINEMA 4D:Cinema 4D ForumCinema 4D TutorialsCinema 4D TagAdobe After Effects Forum

New Computer for Cinema4D

COW Forums : Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
thowleNew Computer for Cinema4D
by on Nov 11, 2005 at 6:30:38 pm

Okay, soon I'm going to be getting a new computer and would like to get one that will be best for what I do.

I'm a programmer, designer, and visual effects (modeling, video effects, etc) designer, as well as a hardcore gamer (Battlefield 2, America's Army, etc).

I'm looking at getting an Alienware ALX machine, and would like to list you some difference specs for the PC I'm looking at so that you might be able to help me choose the best configuration.

Right now I have an Alienware Area 51, with an Intel Pentium 4; 3.2GHz (With HyperThreading), an NVIDIA GeForce FX 5950 Ultra (256 MB Card), and I have 2; 500 MB Corsair RAM modules (Total of 1024MB (1GB)).

On some of the stuff I'm rendering out in Cinema4D it takes up to 9 minutes to render one frame. I'm not using caustics, or anything too wild that would make it take very long rendering times, except for using "hard" shadows on various lights.

When I try to render out the movie with full quality (3790 Frames) it will take around 4 days, hehe :)

Please help me decide on one of the following machines. I want to pick the one that will be best for rendering at great speeds.

Configuration 1:
Alienware Aurora ALX
- Alienware nForce4 SLI Chipset Motherboard PCI Express
- AMD Athlon 64 FX-57 with HyperTransport Technology
- Windows XP Professional, with SP 2
- Dual 256MB PCI-Express x16 NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX KO (SLI Enabled)
- 2GB Ultra Low Latency Corsair Dual Channel DDR SDRAM at up to 550MHz - 4 x 512MB