Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE LOGIC:HomeLogic ForumGarage BandMusic Forum

Mobile Logic

COW Forums : Apple Logic

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Scott DennisMobile Logic
by on Apr 19, 2005 at 7:48:09 pm

Greetings editors.

I am a musician and video editor. I will be traveling this summer and want to record music on the road. This will be mostly analog acoustic guitar and simple drum beats from a drum machine software. They are really demos to be recorded properly when I return to the States. I have a Powerbook 17" 1ghz with 1 G of Ram. It has 60 g of storage.

I want to know what are the bare necessities I would need to record. An interface? Software? More storage? Modulator? Microphone?
Etc.

With this in mind, I want to make an investment that will allow me to expand into my video software (soon to be FCP studio from Avid Xpress Pro). I have heard that Pro Tools is better for analog recording. Is this true? The M-Box seems like a good product but I am a bit concerned about investing with Digidesign as I don't want to be dependent on their hardware and Avid seems to be moving away from the Mac platform. I am thinking of Logic but am concerned about its ability to integrate with FCP. Would Soundtrack Pro allow me to record anaolog with some type of interface?

Recommendations anyone?

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Dennis LisonbeeRe: Mobile Logic
by on Apr 29, 2005 at 3:37:14 am

I own both Logic and Pro Tools.

I have a M-Box and for $450 it is a bargin. Interface and Pro Tools LE. I directed a 35 minute comedy short and the sound mixer actually used a 15inch Powerbook and the M-Box instead of a DAT! He named each take and the raw files imported directly into FCP perfectly.