Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
VIDEO HOSTING:Demo ReelsDemo Reels ForumUpload Your Demo ReelPromote Your Service or BusinessServices

Desperately Needing Critique of Reel!

COW Forums : Demo Reels

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Jen SuranDesperately Needing Critique of Reel!
by on Jun 30, 2009 at 6:34:46 am

Hello!

I'm a young editor, just starting out, and I want to focus on documentary editing. I would be sooo appreciative if you would be so kind to give me some suggestions and/or advice on my reel. They didn't teach us how to make a good reel in film school. Please see the link below.

http://vimeo.com/5063462

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Stephen EilersRe: Desperately Needing Critique of Reel!
by on Jul 1, 2009 at 5:47:40 pm

I've never looked at a documentary reel before, but it worked for me. The only thing I would change is to make everything shorter... including the opening titles. I've always been told to keep a reel short. For example, let's say someone needs an editor and you submit your reel for review... the viewer may have many reels to review, so keeping yours short and to the point helps them out and may ensure they watch the whole thing. I did find myself skipping ahead now and then.

Stephen Eilers
Director - Editor - Visual Effects Artist
Please comment on my reel at http://forums.creativecow.net/readpost/173/857764

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Jen SuranRe: Desperately Needing Critique of Reel!
by on Jul 2, 2009 at 4:06:39 pm

Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm definitely going to take your advice and shorten it up a bit. I really appreciate you taking the time to watch it!

Now it's time to start looking for work.

-Jen

Return to posts index
Reply   Like