Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE MOTION:HomeMotion ForumMotion TutorialsTagFCP ForumFCP Tutorials

Photoshop files in motion don't look right

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
James DowPhotoshop files in motion don't look right
by on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:11:01 pm

I'm pretty new to Motion...trying to do the "Keep the Kids in the Picture" type treatment to some old photos. I separated my picture elements to different .psd layers, then imported to motion (all layers)
Now several of my layers have a white background that I wasn't seeing in Photoshop. Do i need to save them differently, or is there a step in Motion that I need to apply?

Thanks!!
JPD

JPD

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Stephen SmithRe: Photoshop files in motion don't look right
by on Feb 27, 2012 at 3:42:17 pm

Make sure your Photoshop file is RGB, Not CMYK. Also make it 8 bit. Let me know if that works.

Stephen Smith
Utah Video Productions

Check out my Motion Training DVD

Check out my Vimeo page

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Chris LehmannRe: Photoshop files in motion don't look right
by on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:43:56 pm

Follow Stephen's tips about RGB and 8-bit. The recent PSD formats have added a ton of stuff (smart objects, vector layer, etc.) that many 3rd party applications have a hard time interpreting. When I work with PSD files in motion I'll usually flatten/rasterize everything possible to reduce possible errors. If you don't need layers I'd even suggest saving it in a different, more standardized format such as PNG or even JPEG.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Simon UbsdellRe: Photoshop files in motion don't look right
by on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:10:55 pm