Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE MOTION:HomeMotion ForumMotion TutorialsTagFCP ForumFCP Tutorials

Particle trail

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Jason WoodParticle trail
by on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:47:36 pm

Hi

Im quite new to motion and i'm trying to create a sparkle particle trail to wrap around a person to remove them from the scene. I would like it to zoom accross the screen orbit around the person and move up and off the screen, removing them as it goes. Maybe a shooting star type particle.

At the moment ive got a magic wand emitting particles and have a rectangle shape to try to orbit around, but the particles are always in front of the object or behind. I would like them to move in front then disappear behind and so on all the up.

Could someone provide me with some pointers to achieve this please.

Thanks Jay

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Stephen SmithRe: Particle trail
by on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:52:51 pm

Make sure you are working in 3D space.

Stephen Smith
Utah Video Productions

Check out my Motion Training DVD

Check out my Motion Tutorials

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Mark SpencerRe: Particle trail
by on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:33:10 pm

You also need to set the particle to 3D in the Emitter tab.

--
Mark Spencer
Freelance Producer/Editor/Motion Graphics Artist
Apple-certified Master Trainer
Author, Motion 4 from Peachpit Press
http://www.applemotion.net

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Jason WoodRe: Particle trail
by on Jun 17, 2011 at 10:11:22 pm

Thanx for the help, the particles are moving in a circular upwards motion as i wanted, but i cant seem to get them to go out of vision as they go round the object.

What ive done so far: