Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
BUSINESS AND MARKETING:Business and Marketing ForumBusiness and Marketing ArticlesBusiness and Marketing Podcasts

Protecting Myself as a Freelance Video Editor

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Gaby HoustonProtecting Myself as a Freelance Video Editor
by on Apr 12, 2012 at 6:41:01 pm

Hello!

I'm a freelance video editor with a growing client list and incoming work. A few questions:

1. What are the must-have legal protections I need to make sure I work legitimately? Do I need to set up a full-fledged company of some kind or are there some standard documents I can sign with clients for all work?

2. I've come across mentions of liability insurance. Where can I learn more about this?

This has yet to become my sole source of income, but I'm moving in that direction. I don't have any large corporations as clients, just artists, filmmakers, some marketing professionals, etc. Pretty low-key, but some gigs have been paying well, so I want to make sure everything is accounted for legally.

Thanks for your help. Cheers!

- Gaby

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Steve MartinRe: Protecting Myself as a Freelance Video Editor
by on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:35:10 am

Hi Gabby and congrats on a growing client list. If you are to be a freelancer working towards making it your full time job, I would encourage you set up a legit business. It doesn't have to be overly complicated, but I would find an attorney you can trust (referrals from other successful freelancers you know?) and get your self set-up.