Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
BUSINESS AND MARKETING:Business and Marketing ForumBusiness and Marketing ArticlesBusiness and Marketing Podcasts

Consulting?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Mike PalaciosConsulting?
by on Aug 18, 2011 at 3:27:38 pm

Hello, All,
I have a question about consulting fees. Although I am currently not working in the video biz, I have 15 years of experience. This leads to others wanting to "pick my brain" for what I do know. I don't mind, but lately I've been asked how much I charge for this consulting work. Usually, I do not charge and do it as a favor, but I feel this makes me seem unprepared and unprofessional. Since I am not actually doing any work, I don't know what to charge. Could any of you help me with some guidelines or suggestions on consulting fees?
The work usually consists of determining what equipment they should buy, what works with the equipment they do have, and some general ideas on how to accomplish their project. I consider myself a "facilitator" of sorts. As such, I know these people have great project ideas, but I feel they don't know how to accomplish them. That's where I come in. Since the work is strictly consultation related, I don't know how much to charge without taking advantage of them. (Many times, I know they are on a budget.)
Any help would be appreciated.

Mike

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Nick GriffinRe: Consulting?
by on Aug 18, 2011 at 6:25:56 pm

Six thoughts:

1) If you are going to be doing actual consulting then there is an expectation that you are very familiar with today's tools, at least the ones in use by the people to whom you are offering advice in exchange for money.