Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
AUTODESK:Autodesk Smoke ForumAutodesk CombustionAutodesk Smoke 2013

Smoke VS. Final Cut for HD finishing?

COW Forums : Autodesk Smoke

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Tom TortorielloSmoke VS. Final Cut for HD finishing?
by on Jul 19, 2009 at 4:32:21 am

Hi all!

OK, I realize it's not really a fair comparison, as the price difference would indicate, but as a freelance Smoke artist, i'm finding more often companies are using (trying to use?) Final Cut Pro for a HD finishing solution for commercials. I've been using Smoke software since V1.0 on a SGI Octane, and the software has really become powerful over the years. While edit systems have changed greatly in the 20 years i've been doing this (I can still hear 1" machine reels spinning), I have grown super comfortable with Autodesk products (never did like Quantel back in the day... Henry/editbox).

I thought about posting this question on the Final Cut Forum, but I'd rather get my input from any Smoke users that also use Final Cut (rather than visa versa.....make sense?). I have very little time on FCP and firewire capturing some footage from my DVcam is as much as i've played with it (and even that was an old version).