Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Live feed from Camera to Projector

COW Forums : Live & Stage Events

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Adam KeyesLive feed from Camera to Projector
by on Aug 23, 2010 at 7:15:40 pm

Hey guys,

I assume this is a SIMPLE solution, but not sure, as I've never done this exact thing before...

Basically, gonna be running a Varicam 2700 (high end video camera), and I want to send that live image to a video projector.

I know that this is easily done (if you know what you're doing) but I DON'T know exactly what I need to do it. Do I just need a simple cable/adapter to stretch from the camera to the projector and I'm good to go? Or do I need some kind of hardware converter box or something?

Picture quality is not a big deal. But the camera is HD and the projector is SD...sooooo?

Camera is Panasonic Varicam 2700
Projector is ViewSonic PJ501 (looks like a pretty standard projector)

Thanks guys!

Adam

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Walter SoykaRe: Live feed from Camera to Projector
by on Aug 23, 2010 at 7:37:50 pm

I had to look up the projector. The daily rental of that camera is almost the total purchase cost of that projector, which is at least 5 years old. I hope you are not expecting much from it.

Does your Varicam have the option of an SD downconvert on its monitor output?

If not, you will need a scaler or switcher inline between your camera and the projector.

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking
Creative Cow Forum Host: Live & Stage Events

Return to posts index
Reply   Like